“Stamina” is a Kindergarten Word

School is back in to the full swing as students have made the transition from summer break to learning.  The word of the week has been “stamina”.  From Kindergarten to 4th grade, students have been working on building up their independent reading and writing time to get as they set up their routines for the Daily 5 and Literacy CAFE.  These classroom learning structures allow for students to work at their individualized level and pace as they develop their Comprehension, Accuracy, Fluency, and Extend vocabulary in literacy.  As you read with your child each night, ask them what strategies they are using to become better readers.  Like me, I know you will be amazed.  (FYI…I was informed that “stamina” was a kindergarten word by my 1st grade daughter since she learned about that last year.  I didn’t learn about stamina until line drills and wind sprints in middle school sports.  The quality of instruction for this generation of students is definitely ahead of the curve from my generation in school!)

Have a fun, relaxing Labor Day and GO TIGERS! ~ Shane Medlin, Principal

